Board of Education
  • Oakland Schools Board of Education

    Oakland Schools board of Education

    ​The Oakland Schools Board of Education from left to right: George Ehlert, Barb DeMarco, Connie Williams, Theresa Rich, Marc Katz


The Oakland Schools Board of Education hereby notifies residents of its constituent school districts that its Biennial election will be held on Monday, June 4, 2018 at 5:30 p.m. at Oakland Schools, 2111 Pontiac Lake Rd, Waterford, Michigan, Conference  Room B.

The Biennial Election includes two (2) six-year terms. To be eligible for consideration, applicants must be U.S. citizens, residents of a constituent district and registered voters. Nominating petitions or a $100 nonrefundable filing fee and Affidavits of Identity are due to the Director of Elections, Oakland County, no later than 4:00 p.m. Friday, May 4, 2018.

Oakland Schools is overseen by the Oakland Schools Board of Education. Our board is elected to six-year staggered terms every other year by the boards of Oakland County’s 28 school districts. Candidates are often local board members, but need only be registered electors.

Obtaining Oakland Schools Board of Education agendas, minutes and meeting packets

To obtain Oakland Schools Board of Education agendas, minutes and/or meeting packets, please contact Kathy Boike, Senior Executive Assistant to the Board:

Phone: 248.209.2123 | Fax: 248.209.2206 | Email:

Election Process

The Oakland Schools Board of Education is elected by one vote from each of the 28 local Oakland County school district Boards of Education. Elections are held biennially in even years on the first Monday in June. 


Oakland Schools Board meetings are held at 6:30 PM on the first and third Tuesday of each month in conference room A of the Oakland Schools Administration Building located at 2111 Pontiac Lake Road in Waterford, Michigan, unless otherwise posted. Special meetings are scheduled as needed. Meetings are posted and open to the public. Time for public comment is available at every meeting.


Oakland Schools Board Trustees receive $30 per meeting. Meetings are defined as regular and special board meetings, committee meetings, or official Board functions where the Trustee is representing the Board and where his/her attendance is stipulated by official board action. Trustees are reimbursed mileage for such meetings at a rate of non-union employees, calculated round-trip from his/her home to the meeting site. Additionally, Trustees are reimbursed for certain expenses when traveling as representatives of the Board on official board business.

Our current Board Trustees

President: Dr. Theresa Rich

Vice President: Mr. Marc Katz

Treasurer: Mr. Connie Williams

Secretary: Mr. George Ehlert

Trustee: Mrs. Barb DeMarco